Lab Alumni


Weider Lab Spring 2015: L-R, L.J. Weider, R. Hartnett, D. Frisch, W. Speer, A. Yousey, B. Culver

Postdoctoral Associates

 2012-15   Dr. Joaquin Muńoz, U. of Oklahoma Biological Station/Sevilla, Spain

2010-13   Dr. Philip Morton, U. of Oklahoma Biological Station (currently an Assistant Professor and Dept Chair, Murray State College, OK)

2007-15   Dr. Dagmar Frisch, U. of Oklahoma Biological Station (currently a Marie Sklodowska-Curie Research Fellow, School of Biosciences, U. of Birmingham, U.K.)

2006-07   Dr. James Larson, U. of Oklahoma Biological Station (currently a Research Scientist, USGS Upper Midwest Environmental Science Center, La Crosse, Wisconsin)

2005-06   Dr. Chad Hargrave, U. of Oklahoma Biological Station (currently an Associate Professor, Dept. of Biological Sciences, Sam Houston State U., Texas)

2000-01   Dr. Richard Broughton, Dept. of Zoology/Biological Station, U. of Oklahoma (currently Professor and Chair, OU Dept. of Biology)

1997       Dr. Martin Cerny, Dept. of Hydrobiology, Charles University, Prague, Czech Rep.

1994-96   Dr. Piet Spaak, Centre for Limnology, Netherlands Inst. of Ecology, Nieuwersluis, NL(currently Head of the Dept. of Aquatic Ecology, EAWAG, Dubdendorf, Switzerland)

1995       Dr. France Dufresne, Dept. of Zoology, U. of Guelph, Ontario, Canada. (currently an Associate Professor, Dept. of Biology, U. of Quebec at Rimouski)

1994-95   Dr. Luc De Meester, Laboratory of Animal Ecology, U. of Ghent, Belgium. (currently a Professor, Dept. of Biology, KU-Leuven, Belgium)

1991-93   Dr. Joanna Pijanowska, Department of Hydrobiology, U. of Warsaw, Poland.

Weider Lab Spring 2012: L-R, L. Weider, Quini Munoz, B. Culver, D. Frisch, Philip Morton

Previous Graduate Students:

2010-16   Billy Culver (Ph.D. student, U. of Oklahoma) (currently an Assistant Professor, Dept. of Natural Sciences, Centenary Univ., N.J.)

2013-15   Aime’e Yousey (M.S. student, U. of Oklahoma) (currently Assistant-to-the-Chair, OU Dept. of Educational Psychology)

2008-10   Mingyan Lin (M.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2002-07   Punidan Jeyasingh (Ph.D., U. of Oklahoma) (currently an Associate Professor, Dept. of Integrative Biology, Oklahoma State Univ.)

2000-01   Wenjun Wang (Ph.D. student, U. of Oklahoma)

1997-00   Petra Limburg (Ph.D., U. of Kiel, Germany) (currently in the private sector in Germany)

1996-99   Thomas Berendonk (Ph.D., U. of Kiel, Germany) (currently Professor of Limnology, Technical University-Dresden, Germany)

1997-98   Angelika Denk (M.Sc. student, U. of Regensburg, Germany)

1994-97   Suzanne E. Mitchell (Ph.D. – NERC-CASE, U. of Hull, England) (currently Director, Aeona Limited, Edinburgh, Scotland)

 1997       Lilla Pokutta (M.Sc. – U. of Hamburg, Germany)

1989-90   Mary H. Murdoch (M.Sc. – U. of Windsor, Canada) (currently Principal, Stantec Environmental Services, Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada)

Previous Undergraduate Students:

2016-17   Christian Brewer (B.S., U. of Oklahoma, National Merit Scholar, OU Honors College)(Christian started medical school in August 2017 at UT-Southwestern in Dallas).

Christian Brewer conducting a predator cue experiment and examining phototactic response in Daphnia prey


2015-16   Hayley Severson (B.S., U. of Oklahoma, National Merit Scholar, UROP award winner) (Hayley completed her Masters of Public Health, U. of Wisconsin-Madison, and began medical school at UWM in fall 2017).

OU Graduation May 2016 Hayley Severson with Dept of Biology Faculty Marshal L.J. Weider


2012-2016    Frank “Weston” Speer (B.S. Biology, 2016, U. of Oklahoma; UROP award winner)

Weston’s research project involved the study of the aquatic crustacean (brine shrimp) Artemia franciscana, a prominent model organism. With the aid of international colleagues, he obtained A. franciscana populations from several different countries. His project aimed to determine the optimal hatching cues for these populations. Additionally, he engineered a novel hatchery system that could be applied to an array of aquatic organisms.  The results of his independent study research were recently published in the journal Hydrobiologia. Currently, he is conducting nuclear imaging research in the Oklahoma City area.   In August 2018, he will begin medical school at Oklahoma State University (OSU)-Tulsa.

Frank “Weston” Speer (L) receives an Undergraduate Research (UROP) Award from OU (pictured here with L.J. Weider)

2015        Arianne Rick (B.S., U. of Oklahoma, OU Honors College) (will begin dental school at the U. of Florida in fall 2017)

2011-13   Jeff Medders (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2012-13   Alex Mutz (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2011        Rosa Yorks (B.S. , Oklahoma State Univ.)

2011       Tiffany Glover (B.S., Langston Univ., Oklahoma)

2011       Garrett Schulze (Kingston High, Oklahoma)

2011       Kelsie Montgomery (high-school student, Red River Technology Center, Oklahoma)

2010       Michael Leitch (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2005-06   Laura Harolds (B.S. Honors, U. of Oklahoma, UROP award winner)

2003       Andrea Bean (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2003       Jaime Ramos (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2002       Robyn Moran (B.S., S.W. Okla. State)

2002       Lynette Matthews (B.S., Arizona State U.)

2002       Amy Ramsey (B.S., Botany, U. of Oklahoma)

2001       Jeremiah Smith (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2001       Kim Land (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

2000       Amanda Warren (B.S., U. of Oklahoma)

1992       Gerhard Griebe (B.Sc. honors – U. of Oldenburg, Germany)

1992       Andreas Heinken (B.Sc. – Free University – Berlin, Germany)

1992       Adrian Howe (B.Sc. – EC Comet Program, U. of Swansea, Wales)

1989-90   Catherine Delvanminck (B.Sc. honors – U. of Windsor, Canada)